~ On Hiatus ~

September 30, 2011

Review: Seers by Heather Frost

Seers by Heather Frost

Release Date: October 4th 2011 
by Bonneville; Hardcover, 330 pages
Website
My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Goodreads blurb:

For Kate Bennet, surviving the car wreck that killed her parents means big changes and even bigger problems. As she begins to see auras and invisible people, Kate must learn to trust Patrick O'Donnell, a handsome Guardian, or risk her life being overrun with Demons. She soon realizes that both she and her heart are in big-time trouble.

My thoughts: (spoiler free)
 
I ADORED this book! It was sweet, light, beautifully written and it had almost all the elements I like in my YA novels (and I couldn’t find any of my bookish pet peeves in it, I should add). It’s one of those books that you can’t put down until you’ve finished reading it, that puts a smile on your face and leaves you in a good mood and eagerly anticipating the next escape – I mean, the next book in the series.

After losing her parents in a terrible car accident, Kate struggles to cope with the loss and to adapt to her new life, especially to her new acquired ability to see people’s auras. She tries to seem normal, to get through high school and to make things work with her friends and with her boyfriend Aron. But no matter how much she tries to blend in and move on, it’s pretty clear that nothing will be the same again. And as if to prove just that, Patrick, a handsome, mysterious boy with a sexy, Irish accent appears out of nowhere and seems to know everything about her and to be stalking her. He keeps coming out of nowhere, disappearing, hiding and giving her cryptic messages. Even her friends become suspicious and don’t like that he’s so much around her, but what can she do, when not even she knows what’s his deal?

Now I need to say that one of the things I really liked about this novel is that there is no annoying insta-love between the main characters. Kate doesn’t leave everything behind and runs after Patrick begging for his attention (like some other girls we know tend to do), even when he proves that he means no harm to her but on the contrary. She is careful, cautious around him; she tries to learn more about him and keep the distance in the same time; she learns to trust him and to get closer to him gradually. Though she keeps seeing him and strange things happen around them, she also tries to take a grip on her life and make her relationship with her boyfriend work.

Anyway, suddenly things get really, really complicated. Kate has to make some dangerous choices and to keep the people in her life safe. Because, turns out Patrick is a Guardian and he was sent here to protect her, because she is a Seer (she can see auras and detect the existence of other supernatural beings) and Demons are after her. Nothing is what it seems, people close to her show their real face, hard truths are revealed, and there’s a new option, a new path ahead of her now. But what should she do? What and who should she choose? Who should she trust? Why is her role so important in the never ending battle between Good and Bad? No matter the answers to these questions, one thing is clear: there’s no going back.

 So, yes... Demons, Guardians, Seers, auras, supernatural powers, prophecies, hidden destinies, mad choices – that’s what she has to deal with now. There’s something more to her life now than getting through high school and dating – not that that went so well, anyway. 

Kate is a great character. Considering everything that’s happening to her lately, she’s not whiny or anything; on the contrary, she’s strong, smart, level headed, caring and even witty and kick ass when needs come. Patrick is totally swoon worthy (did I mention the accent?) and book boyfriend material: smart, sarcastic, funny, caring, bad ass, handsome and always there when Kate needs him. Need I say more? Oh, and their conversations and dialogs? They either crack you up or make you fell all warm and fuzzy. It’s always a delight to be around these two, I tell you.

When I talked about this book on my blog and I had the chance to chat with Heather, I mentioned that I loved ALL her characters. From Kate’s grandparents who are so hilarious and adorable, to Kate’s funny, unpredictable best friend and Patrick’s friend who tries to be the always charming bad boy. They all have so much personality, they seem so real, so alive, so believable that they make you feel like any day now you could walk down the street and run into one of them. At character development, Heather Frost totally rocked! *bows*

Another thing I really liked is that everything is so well balanced and realistic. The world building, the characters with their strong personalities and real-life-like flaws… The whole dynamic is very well done.


So even though the main idea of the plot is not that new, there are enough original and captivating elements in this book to keep you invested from beginning to the end. The writing is absolutely beautiful and flawless! The end of this first book of the trilogy was a big surprise – not really a cliff hanger, but shocking enough to leave me craving for the sequel! Seers was a delight to read and I’m looking forward to reading more of Heather Frost’s works, because she’s a very promising and talented young author!

*Thank you Cedar Fort Publisher and NetGalley for providing me with an eGalley of the book in exchange for my honest opinion! 


P.S. Readers who enjoyed Hush, Hush (Becca Fitzpatrick), Beautiful Creatures (Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl) or Angelfire (Courtney Allison Moulton) will definitely enjoy this one!

P.P.S. Now that we're closer to the release date, maybe you'd like to check out my interview with Heather Frost. :)

Have a great weekend!
xoxo
 Deea's Signature

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! I love comments! ♥

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...